Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Units Program: Headquarters
Education, Research and Technical Assistance for Managing Our Natural Resources

Headquarters


Northern Pintail Drake at Colusa National Wildlife Refuge

The Cooperative Research Unit program was established in 1935 to enhance graduate education in fisheries and wildlife sciences and to facilitate research between natural resource agencies and universities on topics of mutual concern. Today, there are 40 Cooperative Research Units in 38 states. Each unit is a partnership among the U.S. Geological Survey, a State natural resource agency, a host university, and the Wildlife Management Institute.

Staffed by U.S. Geological Federal personnel, Cooperative Research Units conduct research on renewable natural resource questions, participate in the education of graduate students, provide technical assistance and consultation on natural resource issues, and provide continuing education for natural resource professionals.

We invite you to explore our website further and check out our research projects, meet our students, and review exciting, new research findings.

Headquarters Federal Staff

Roberta with her Dad enjoying the summer
Chaves, Roberta
Headquarters Staff
rchaves@usgs.gov

Childs, Dawn
Childs, Dawn
Headquarters Staff
dchilds@usgs.gov

Shana Coulby, Administrative Officer
Coulby, Shana
Administrative Officer
scoulby@usgs.gov

Croston, Brenda
Croston, Brenda
Administrative Specialist
brenda_croston@usgs.gov

Delinski, Terrie
Delinski, Terrie
Administrative Operations Assistant
tdelinski@usgs.gov

Don Dennerline, Senior Staff Biologist
Dennerline, Don
Biologist
ddennerline@usgs.gov

Hippos
Geary, Derek
Administrative Program Specialist
dgeary@usgs.gov

Gelsomin visiting Seattle Aquarium
Gelsomin, Amanda
Administrative Specialist
agelsomin@usgs.gov

Grand, James
Grand, James
Supervisor
grandjb@auburn.edu

Mawdsley, Jonathan
Mawdsley, Jonathan
Chief
jmawdsley@usgs.gov

Pokharel, Sumina
Pokharel, Sumina
Program Support Assistant
spokharel@usgs.gov

Thode, Melissa
Thode, Melissa
Program Analyst
mthode@usgs.gov

JT
Thompson, John
Deputy Chief
jthompson@usgs.gov

Duckdog Photography photo
Tome, Michael
Supervisor
mtome@usgs.gov

Kevin Whalen, Supervisor
Whalen, Kevin
Supervisor
kwhalen@usgs.gov

Contact Us

Headquarters

USGS - Cooperative Research Units Program
12201 Sunrise Valley Drive
MS303
Reston VA 20192
Phone: (703) 648-4260
Fax: (703) 648-4269

Staff Listing
University Website: https://www1.usgs.gov/coopunits/
Map Link: Google Map

Links