Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Units Program: Headquarters
Education, Research and Technical Assistance for Managing Our Natural Resources

Headquarters About Us

Northern Pintail Drake at Colusa National Wildlife Refuge

Cooperative Research Units have a three-fold mission: (1) Graduate Education, (2) Research, and (3) Technical Assistance.

Each Unit consists of 2-5 federal scientists and 1-2 administrative specialists. Each Unit has a Leader who provides oversight to all Unit activities. Federal scientists hold faculty rank at their home institution, teach graduate level courses, offer workshops for graduate students and cooperators, and conduct research on a wide variety of natural resource topics. Research projects typically support graduate students and post-docs.

Please see the map on our home page to see the location of our units and to obtain the contact information for individual units. Directions to the national Headquarters office in Reston, VA are provided below.