Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Units Program
Education, Research and Technical Assistance for Managing Our Natural Resources

American White Pelicans (Pelecanus erythrorhynchos) at Cape Romain NWR, SC. Credit: Pat Jodice, USGS.

About the Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Units Program

The Cooperative Research Units program was established in 1935 to enhance graduate education in fisheries and wildlife sciences and to facilitate research and technical assistance between natural resource agencies and universities on topics of mutual concern. Today, there are 42 Cooperative Research Units in 40 states, with a National Program Office located at the U.S. Geological Survey in Reston, Virginia. Each unit is a unique partnership among the U.S. Geological Survey, a host university, one or more state agencies, and the Wildlife Management Institute.