Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Units Program: Virginia
Education, Research and Technical Assistance for Managing Our Natural Resources

Virginia History

The Virginia Unit conducts vital research for understanding population dynamics of many bat species, including the red bat.

The beginnings of the The Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit Program were initiated in Iowa by the cartoonist, political satirist, and conservationist J. N. "Ding" Darling. In the early 1930s, Darling was the commissioner of the Iowa Fish and Game Commission when he created the cooperative wildlife research unit as a joint venture of Iowa State College and the Iowa Fish and Game Commission.

In 1934, Darling was appointed director of the Federal Bureau of Biological Survey. In this position, Darling lobbied Congress for support of a nationwide cooperative wildlife research unit program. With commitments from land-grant universities, state natural resources agencies, and ammunition companies, units were established in nine states that represented the breadth of ecosystems across the country (Oregon, Utah, Texas, Iowa, Maine, Connecticut, Virginia, Alabama, Ohio).

The Cooperative Units Act (P.L. 86-686) was passed by Congress in 1960, which authorized the unit program as a separate budget item within the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. This act also established cooperative fishery units. The Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Program has evolved over the years, including the addition of several new units. Other significant programmatic changes included combining disparate wildlife and fisheries programs into single units in the 1970s, and moving the unit program from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service to the U.S. Geological Survey in the 1990s.

The Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Units are truly cooperative ventures of federal and state governments, and non-governmental organizations.

Name Position Start Year End Year
Angermeier, Paul Assistant Unit Leader 2010 Current
Angermeier, Paul Unit Leader 2009 2010
Angermeier, Paul Assistant Unit Leader 1988 2009
Ford, Mark Unit Leader 2010 Current
Margraf, F. Unit Leader 1987 1996
Mazik, Patricia Unit Leader 1998 Current
Neves, Richard Unit Leader 1978 2008
Vaughan, Michael Unit Leader 1980 2009
Welsh, Stuart Assistant Unit Leader 2000 Current
Wood, Petra Assistant Unit Leader 1992 Current