Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Units Program: Tennessee
Education, Research and Technical Assistance for Managing Our Natural Resources

Tennessee History

Silver Carp below Barkley Dam on the Cumberland River

The Tennessee Cooperative Fishery Research Unit (TN CFRU) was established in 1972 as a partnership with Tennessee Tech University, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency, and the U.S. Geological Survey. The Tennessee Unit is one of 40 Cooperative Research Units around the country (and one of only four that is a "Fish-only" Research Unit). In its 43-year history, the Tennessee Unit has had four Unit leaders: R. Don Estes, Jim Layzer, Phil Bettoli, and Mark Rogers.

Name Position Start Year End Year
Bettoli, Phillip Assistant Unit Leader 2000 2016
Layzer, James Unit Leader 1985 2014
Rogers, Mark Unit Leader 2015 Current
Rosenberger, Amanda Assistant Unit Leader 2017 Current