Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Units Program: Colorado
Education, Research and Technical Assistance for Managing Our Natural Resources

Colorado History

Scenic view of Catamount Reservoir

The Cooperative Wildlife Research Unit Program began in 1935 when five Units were established at land grant universities. Additional Units have been added in many states since that time. In 1961 the Cooperative Fishery Research Unit Program was initiated. Beginning in 1984, Wildlife and Fishery Units were combined and called Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Units. At the present time, there are 40 Cooperative Research Units (see map). The objectives of the Units are essentially unchanged since 1935: (1) conduct research basic to the management of fishery and wildlife resources, (2) educate fishery and wildlife biologists at the graduate level, and (3) provide technical assistance to conservation agencies and groups. The Colorado Cooperative Wildife Research Unit was founded in 1947, and the Colorado Cooperative Fishery Research Unit was established in 1963. The two Units were combined in July 1984. The Colorado Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit is staffed, supported, and coordinated by Colorado State University, Colorado Parks and Wildlife, U.S. Geological Survey, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, and the Wildlife Management Institute.

Name Position Start Year End Year
Anderson, David Unit Leader 1984 2003
Bergersen, Eric Assistant Unit Leader 1973 2003
Burnham, Kenneth Assistant Unit Leader 1988 2009
Gerber, Brian Assistant Unit Leader 2023 Current
Hooten, Mevin Assistant Unit Leader 2010 2021
Kendall, William Assistant Unit Leader 2010 Current
Winkelman, Dana Unit Leader 2003 Current