Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Units Program: Colorado
Education, Research and Technical Assistance for Managing Our Natural Resources

Colorado About Us

Scenic view of Catamount Reservoir

Cooperative Research Units have three facets to their mission: (1) Education, (2) Research, and (3) Technical Assistance.

The Colorado Unit, situated at Colorado State University in Fort Collins, CO, works closely with state, federal and university cooperators to execute that mission. Our unit staff have current research projects on the study of whirling disease in trout; the effects of smallmouth bass as an introduced species in the upper Colorado River basin; mountain lion space use and movement on the Rocky Mountain Front Range; modeling estimation and adaptive population management of sandhill cranes, manatees, and sea turtles; with research reaching wind farm areas & the NPRA in Alaska.

See the RESEARCH link on the side bar for more details.

The Colorado Cooperative Research Unit offices are located in 201 Wagar Bldg at Colorado State University in Fort Collins, Colorado.