Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Units Program: Oklahoma
Education, Research and Technical Assistance for Managing Our Natural Resources

Oklahoma About Us

Scenic overlook of Broken Bow Lake, SE Oklahoma.

The Oklahoma Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit has three facets to its mission: (1) Graduate Education, (2) Research, and (3) Technical Assistance.

The Unit consists of 3 federal scientists (a Unit Leader and 2 Assistant Leaders) and 2 administrative specialists. The Unit Leader provides oversight to all Unit activities. Federal scientists hold faculty rank at their home institution, teach courses and workshops for graduate students and cooperators, and conduct research on a wide variety of natural resource topics. Research projects typically support graduate students and post-docs.

The Oklahoma Unit has been a part of Oklahoma State University since 1948 and a part of the Department of Natural Resource Ecology and Management since its inception in 2007.