Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Units Program: Hawaii
Education, Research and Technical Assistance for Managing Our Natural Resources

Hawaii History

An Ornamental Butterflyfish examines a stationary camera deployed at Kealakekua, Hawaii Island.

The beginnings of the Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit Program can be traced to Iowa and the cartoonist, political satirist, and conservationist J. N. "Ding" Darling. In the early 1930s, Darling was the commissioner of the Iowa Fish and Game Commission when he created the cooperative wildlife research unit as a joint venture of Iowa State College and the Iowa Fish and Game Commission.

In 1934, Darling was appointed director of the Federal Bureau of Biological Survey. In this position, Darling lobbied Congress for support of a nationwide cooperative wildlife research unit program. With commitments from land-grant universities, state natural resources agencies, and ammunition companies, units were established in nine states that represented the breadth of ecosystems across the country (Oregon, Utah, Texas, Iowa, Maine, Connecticut, Virginia, Alabama, Ohio).

The Cooperative Units Act (P.L. 86-686) was passed by Congress in 1960, which authorized the unit program as a separate budget item within the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service. This act also established cooperative fishery units. The Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Program has evolved over the years, including the addition of several new units. Other significant programmatic changes included combining disparate wildlife and fisheries programs into single units in the 1970s, and moving the unit program from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service to the U.S. Geological Survey in the 1990s.

The Hawai'i Cooperative Fishery Research Unit was established at the University of Hawai'i-Manoa campus on the island of Oahu in 1966 and relocated to the University of Hawai'i-Hilo campus on the island of Hawai'i in 2012. Past Unit Leaders include Dr. John Maciolek (1966-1977), Dr. James Parrish (1977-2006), and Dr. Charles Birkeland (2006-2010). Past Assistant Unit Leaders include Dr. Leighton Taylor, Jr. (1972-1975), Dr. Charles Birkeland (2000-2006), and Dr. Alan Friedlander (2009-2013).
Adapted from Goforth (1994)

Name Position Start Year End Year
Birkeland, Charles Unit Leader 2000 2010
Friedlander, Alan Assistant Unit Leader 2009 2013
Grabowski, Timothy Unit Leader 2016 Current
Parrish, James Unit Leader 1977 2006
Raz, Lillian Assistant Unit Leader 2022 Current