Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Units Program: Arkansas
Education, Research and Technical Assistance for Managing Our Natural Resources

Arkansas History

The Arkansas Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit studies wildlife and fish populations and ecosystems across the scenic Ozark mountains.

The Arkansas Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit opened its doors in 1988 as one of four units initiated that year and one of 40 Units across the country associated with Land Grant Universities, state game and fish agencies, Wildlife Management Institute, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, and the U.S. Geological Survey. The purpose of these Units is to train graduate students in scientific methods of fish and wildlife management, conduct fish and wildlife research, and provide technical assistance.

Over the past 30+ years, the Arkansas Unit has gone through a number of changes. The federal cooperator changed from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service to the National Biological Survey to National Biological Service and finally to the U.S. Geological Survey. The University department changed from Zoology to Biological Sciences and combined with Botany and Microbiology. We have seen nine Department Chairs, five Assistant Unit Leaders, and twoUnit Leaders move on.

In 1999, the Unit was reformed under a new Unit Leader (David Krementz) and two new Assistant Unit Leaders were hired (Dan Magoulick, Bill Thompson). With the full support of all cooperators, this new team began a new era at the Arkansas Unit. In 2019, Brett DeGregorio came aboard to fill the Unit Leader role following David Krementz's retirement. The opportunities that exist in Arkansas for the Unit are many and exciting. With the cooperation of all parties, the Arkansas Unit will excel in producing quality graduate students, solid research and supportive technical assistance.

Name Position Start Year End Year
Degregorio, Brett Unit Leader 2019 Current
Krementz, David Unit Leader 1999 2017
Kwak, Thomas Assistant Unit Leader 1995 1998
Magoulick, Daniel Assistant Unit Leader 2000 Current
Roberts, Caleb Assistant Unit Leader 2020 Current
Thompson, William Assistant Unit Leader 2000 2004