Cooperative Research Units
Education, Research And Technical Assistance For Managing Our Natural Resources
Home | Intranet | Digital Measures | Help

History of the Tennessee Unit

Tennessee rivers support one of the most diverse mussel communities on the planet

The Tennessee Cooperative Fishery Research Unit (TN CFRU) was established in 1972 as a partnership with Tennessee Tech University, the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, the Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency, and the U.S. Geological Survey. The Tennessee Unit is one of 40 Cooperative Research Units around the country (and one of only four that is a "Fish-only" Research Unit). In its 43-year history, the Tennessee Unit has had four Unit leaders: R. Don Estes, Jim Layzer, Phil Bettoli, and Mark Rogers.


Current Staff

Federal Staff: 2

Masters Students: 4

Phd Students: 1

Post Docs: 1

University Staff: 4

5 Year Summary

Students graduated: 8

Scientific Publications: 33

Presentations: 86


Past Unit Leaders

  1. Jim Layzer
    1985 - 2014

Past Assistant Unit Leaders

  1. Phil Bettoli
    2000 - 2016

Tennessee Cooperative Fishery Research Unit Cooperators

  1. Tennessee Technological University
  2. Tennessee Wildlife Resources Agency
  3. U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
  4. U.S. Geological Survey