Cooperative Research Units
Education, Research And Technical Assistance For Managing Our Natural Resources
Home | Intranet | Digital Measures | Help

History of the New York Unit

Biologists conducting a waterfowl survey in 1957

The New York Cooperative Research Unit was established in 1961 as the New York Cooperative Wildlife Research Unit. It was led by Dr. Dan Thompson. In 1963, the New York Cooperative Fishery Research Unit was established under the leadership of Dr. Al Eipper. The wildlife and fishery units were combined in 1984 to form the current New York Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit. Dr. Milo Richmond led the combined unit.

The New York Unit has employed six wildlife scientists: Daniel Q. Thompson (1961-1975), Milo E. Richmond (1968-2008), Richard A. Malecki (1978-2008), Angela K. Fuller (2009-present), Mitchell J. Eaton (2011-present); and seven fishery scientists: Alfred W. Eipper(1963-1975), Henry A. Regier (1964-1966), Clarence A. Carlson (1966-1972), John G. Nickum (1973-1980), Steven P. Gloss (1978-1987), Mark B. Bain (1991-2003), and William L. Fisher (2008-present).


Current Staff

Federal Staff: 2

Masters Students: 2

Phd Students: 5

Post Docs: 4

University Staff: 2

5 Year Summary

Students graduated: 12

Scientific Publications: 51

Presentations: 117


Past Unit Leaders

  1. William Fisher
    2008 - 2013
  2. Milo Richmond
    1968 - 2008

Past Assistant Unit Leaders

  1. Angela Fuller
    2009 - 2014
  2. Richard Malecki
    1977 - 2008
  3. Mark Bain
    1986 - 2003

New York Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit Cooperators

  1. Cornell University
  2. New York State Department of Environmental Conservation
  3. U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
  4. U.S. Geological Survey
  5. Wildlife Management Institute