Cooperative Research Units
Education, Research And Technical Assistance For Managing Our Natural Resources
Home | Intranet | Digital Measures | Help

History of the Louisiana Unit

White Lake marsh near Gueydan, Louisiana

In 1962, a Cooperative Wildlife Unit was established at LSU which was followed by the establishment of a Cooperative Fishery Unit in 1963. In 1985, both Units were combined into a single Fish and Wildlife Unit. In the mid-1990s, the Units were moved from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service to the U.S. Geological Survey. The Louisiana Unit is a cooperative among the: U.S. Geological Survey, LSU Agricultural Center, Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, and the Wildlife Management Institute.


Current Staff

Federal Staff: 3

Masters Students: 3

Phd Students: 2

Post Docs: 1

University Staff: 4

5 Year Summary

Students graduated: 9

Scientific Publications: 42

Presentations: 86


Past Assistant Unit Leaders

  1. C. Bryan
    1998 - 2003

Louisiana Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit Cooperators

  1. Louisiana Department of Wildlife and Fisheries
  2. Louisiana State University
  3. U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
  4. U.S. Geological Survey
  5. Wildlife Management Institute