Cooperative Research Units
Education, Research And Technical Assistance For Managing Our Natural Resources
Home | Intranet | Digital Measures | Help

California Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit


The California Unit is one of 40 similar units established under the Federal Organic Act at universities throughout the United States. The Cooperative Unit Program began in 1935. Cooperators include the U. S. Geological Survey, State Fish and Wildlife Agencies, the Universities, and in some instances, other conservation agencies. The units conduct research of benefit to cooperators, train graduate students and provide research information to agencies and the public. Cooperative Units professional staff members are federal employees of the US Geological Survey and serve as faculty at their host university.

The California Cooperative Research Unit, established in 1967, and modified in 2008, is located in Arcata, California on the northern California coast at Humboldt Bay. The Unit is affiliated with the College of Natural Resources and Sciences, Humboldt State University.


Current Staff

Federal Staff: 1

Masters Students: 9

Phd Students: 0

Post Docs: 0

University Staff: 1

5 Year Summary

Students graduated: 6

Scientific Publications: 7

Presentations: 31


California Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit Cooperators

  1. California Department of Fish and Wildlife
  2. Humboldt State University
  3. U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
  4. U.S. Geological Survey
  5. Wildlife Management Institute