Cooperative Research Units
Education, Research And Technical Assistance For Managing Our Natural Resources
Home | Intranet | Digital Measures | Help

History of the Arkansas Unit

A Northern Saw Whet Owl captured, banded, and released at the Ozark Natural Science Center

The Arkansas Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit opened its doors in 1988 as one of four units initiated that year and one of 40 Units across the country associated with Land Grant Universities, state game and fish agencies, Wildlife Management Institute, U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, and the U.S. Geological Survey. The purpose of these Units is to train graduate students in scientific methods of fish and wildlife management, conduct fish and wildlife research, and provide technical assistance.

Over the past 20+ years, the Arkansas Unit has gone through a number of changes. The federal cooperator changed from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service to the National Biological Survey to National Biological Service and finally to the U.S. Geological Survey. The University department changed from Zoology to Biological Sciences and combined with Botany and Microbiology. We have seen nine Department Chairs, five Assistant Unit Leaders, and 2 Unit Leaders move on.

In 1999, the Unit was reformed under a new Unit Leader (David Krementz) and two new Assistant Unit Leaders were hired (Dan Magoulick, Bill Thompson). With the full support of all cooperators, this new team began a new era at the Arkansas Unit. In 2019, Brett DeGregorio came aboard to fill the Unit Leader role following David Krementz's retirement. The opportunities that exist in Arkansas for the Unit are many and exciting. With the cooperation of all parties, the Arkansas Unit will excel in producing quality graduate students, solid research and supportive technical assistance.


Current Staff

Federal Staff: 3

Masters Students: 3

Phd Students: 7

Post Docs: 1

University Staff: 2

5 Year Summary

Students graduated: 17

Scientific Publications: 35

Presentations: 45


Past Assistant Unit Leaders

  1. William Thompson
    2000 - 2004
  2. Thomas Kwak
    1995 - 1998

Arkansas Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit Cooperators

  1. Arkansas Game and Fish Commission
  2. U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
  3. U.S. Geological Survey
  4. University of Arkansas
  5. Wildlife Management Institute