Cooperative Research Units
Education, Research And Technical Assistance For Managing Our Natural Resources
Home | Intranet | Digital Measures | Help

Alabama Cooperators

Each of the 40 Units in the Cooperative Research Unit Program is a partnership among the Biological Resources Discipline of the U.S. Geological Survey, the Wildlife Management Institute, a state natural resource agency, and a host university. This partnership meets annually at the Unit Coordinating Committee Meeting to identify cooperator needs, set research priorities, and to discuss the direction of the Unit.

Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources 

Mr. Chuck SykesDirector: Wildlife and Freshwater Fisheries Division

Auburn University

Dr. Paul PattersonDean of Agriculture and Director AL.: College of Agriculture and AAES

Dr. Joe TomassoDirector & Professor: Fisheries, Aquaculture and Aquatic Sciences

Dr. Janaki  AlavalapatiDean: School of Forestry and Wildlife Sciences

U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service

Dr. Bill UihleinAssistant Regional Director: Science Applications

U.S. Geological Survey

Wildlife Management Institute

Dr. Jonathan GassettWMI Southeastern Field Representative

Dr. Steven WilliamsPresident


Current Staff

Federal Staff: 1

Masters Students: 6

Phd Students: 4

Post Docs: 1

University Staff: 29

5 Year Summary

Students graduated: 14

Scientific Publications: 29

Presentations: 83


Alabama Cooperative Fish and Wildlife Research Unit Cooperators

  1. Alabama Department of Conservation and Natural Resources 
  2. Auburn University
  3. U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service
  4. U.S. Geological Survey
  5. Wildlife Management Institute